My day, cancelled but not lost.

So as usual I got all stressed out about a presentation I had to make in French and over prepared.  And I mean OVERPREPARED, I memorized the whole thing. As I am sitting in the videoconference room waiting for the meeting to start I get an email saying it’s been cancelled. Since I was sitting in for my boss who was unavailable today, I likely won’t be needed when they do reschedule.

Image

But my day picked up when I met my old boss for lunch. We hit this diner I’ve wanted to go to forever. I ordered the slow roasted pork loin, avocado, tomato, chipotle mayo on sourdough with a side of home fries. It was delish. I didn’t take a picture, but it was a huge portion of food. I ate it all. I followed it up with a cappuccino because otherwise I would have fallen asleep through my next meeting. I power walked – in heels – back to the office (20 minutes) only to find out my afternoon meeting was also cancelled. Lovely.

I came home and attempted to do another insanity workout – the max interval! This workout is seriously out of my leagues. I completed 35 of the 60 minutes.  And the last 10 minutes were not pretty. I keep reminding myself that I only started it last week. I will get better. Right?

Dinner was eggs, potatoes, a slice of toast and a clementine. Uninspired – and it’s only midweek.

I am a bit jealous (and happy) for my American friends who get to celebrate Thanksgiving this weekend. On that note, and though I want to keep certain parts of my life out of this blog, I do want to mention that despite hiccups, annoyances and daily frustrations I am incredibly grateful for everything that I have; my life, my family, my husband, my health, my job. A very kind, gentle, generous and hard working man passed away today, I am grateful that his family was by his side when it happened. A reminder to never take anything for granted and to embrace each day. Life is short. Every once in awhile take a moment to pause and take it all in. 

Leave a Reply

